Prepared Childbirth Classes Weekly

This is a 12 hour comprehensive class, which will help expectant parents through the stages of late pregnancy, labor, birth, and postpartum. Instructors discuss signs of labor, when to come to the hospital or birthing center, role of the support person and comfort measures such as breathing, relaxation, positions, massage, visualization, hydrotherapy, and anesthesia and analgesia. In addition, birth plans, what to expect if medical interventions are necessary, including induction of labor and cesarean delivery will be discussed. Other topics will be postpartum changes and a presentation on the newborn after delivery. A tour of the maternity unit is included. This is always a complete 12 hour childbirth class giving you the opportunity learn about labor and birth, discuss choices and concerns and meet others sharing this special time. Cost of class is for the expectant mom and her partner or labor support person. For more information or to register by phone, please call the Childbirth Education Department at 617-243-6649.

Registration fee: $185
Class Date: Location: Instructor(s):  
4 sessions
Sun.,Oct 26:3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Sun.,Nov 2:3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Sun.,Nov 9:3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Sun.,Nov 16:3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Mitsou M Please call us at 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 for more information
4 sessions
Tue.,Nov 22:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tue.,Nov 29:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tue.,Dec 6:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tue.,Dec 13:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Maria S Please call us at 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 for more information
4 sessions
Wed.,Dec 21:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Dec 28:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Jan 4:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Jan 11:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Shari M Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Sun.,Jan 15:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Sun.,Jan 22:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Sun.,Jan 29:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Sun.,Feb 5:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Mitsou M Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Wed.,Feb 1:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Feb 8:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Feb 15:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Feb 22:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Shari M Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Sun.,Feb 26:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Sun.,Mar 5:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Sun.,Mar 12:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Sun.,Mar 19:2:30 PM - 5:30 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Mitsou M Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Tue.,Mar 14:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tue.,Mar 21:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tue.,Mar 28:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tue.,Apr 4:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Karen Z Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Sun.,Apr 2:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Sun.,Apr 9:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Sun.,Apr 23:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Sun.,Apr 30:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Shari M Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Wed.,May 3:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,May 10:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,May 17:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,May 24:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Alexis T Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Thu.,May 18:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thu.,May 25:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thu.,Jun 1:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thu.,Jun 8:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Shari M Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Sun.,Jun 4:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Sun.,Jun 11:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Sun.,Jun 18:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Sun.,Jun 25:5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
NWH - Allen Riddle Bldg - CBE Classroom
Mitsou M Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register
4 sessions
Wed.,Jun 21:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Jun 28:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Jul 5:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed.,Jul 12:6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
NWH,2nd Flr, Conference Center - Room #4/5
Alexis T Call 617-243-6649 or 617-243-6221 to register

Find a Doctor

Find primary care physicians and specialists.

Events

Classes - Yoga, CPR, and more

Newton-Wellesley offers a variety of wellness center and childbirth education classes throughout the year. Learn CPR, practice yoga, prepare a sibling for a new child in the family, and more.
» Class info

News

2015 Top Docs List

More than 30 Newton-Wellesley affiliated physicians made Boston magazine's annual list recognizing some of the area's best doctors.
» Learn More  

Hospital Ranked #11

US News and World Report has ranked Newton-Wellesley Hospital 11th in Massachusetts.
» Learn More